The West Indies, two-time champions and co-hosts of the 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup, have been placed in Group C as part of the tournament scheduled to kick off on June 1 in Dallas. Angela Melville provides insights in our T20 World Cup report. With a record 20 teams divided into four groups, competing in 55 games, the quest for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Championship 2024 is set to unfold. In Group C, West Indies aims for a third T20 World Cup title, starting their journey against Papua New Guinea in Guyana on Saturday, June 2. The group also features New Zealand, Afghanistan, and Uganda. Additional group matches for the Caribbean team will take place in Trinidad and Tobago and St. Lucia.

Defending champions England headline Group B, alongside former champions Australia, Namibia, Scotland, and Oman. England will commence their title defense on Tuesday, June 4, in Barbados against Scotland. Group A consists of India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, and co-hosts the United States. Notably, a highly anticipated clash between long-time rivals India and Pakistan is scheduled for June 9 at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in Long Island. The top two teams from each of the four groups will progress to the Super Eight stage, with the subsequent top two teams from each Super Eight group advancing to the semifinals in Guyana and Trinidad and Tobago on June 26 and 27, respectively. The finals are set to take place at Kensington Oval in Barbados on June 29.


Explore More: NEWS