The divisional borders of the police district as we know them are set to change. Security Minister Dr. Horace Chang in his Sectoral Debate says the restructuring of these borders will greatly aid in how policing is done across the country. Noting that criminals operate seamlessly across policing divisions Chang says ” there is no way that law enforcement efforts should be constrained by geographic boundaries.”

The police are organised into five geographic areas, which have retained their original boundaries despite population changes. The new configuration will see six corporate area divisions and St. Thomas becoming the new metropolitan region. The police divisions of St. Catherine and Clarendon would become a new area. Meanwhile, the changing dynamics in criminality will require modifications to the current area one – St James, Westmoreland, Hanover, and Trelawny. Westmoreland, St. Elizabeth, and Manchester will form a new police area, leaving a new-look area one encompassing St James, Hanover, and Trelawny.

Dr. Chang also proposed the establishment of the Kingston and St. Andrew metropolitan portfolio. More details in this report:

Reporter: Jhanielle Powell

Watch more stories: