Today in Parliament, the government disclosed its plan to prolong heightened security measures in seven communities across the island, citing ongoing security apprehensions. The Members of Parliament have greenlit a resolution allowing the extension in Kingston, St. James, St. Andrew, and other specified regions. This extension will elongate the existing Zones of Special Operations (ZOSOs) active in these seven communities by an additional 180 days, concluding in June of next year.

The resolution received affirmation from members of the House of Representatives during Tuesday’s parliamentary session. The areas presently under these amplified security measures include Denham Town in West Kingston, Norwood, and Mount Salem in St. James, Greenwich Town, Parade Gardens, August Town in St. Andrew, and Savanna-la-Mar in Westmoreland. While supporting the Zones of Special Operations concept, Opposition Leader Mark Golding raised concerns about the employment of States of Emergency (SOEs). On December 8, the government imposed SOEs in St. James, Hanover, Westmoreland, St. Catherine, Clarendon, and the St. Andrew South Police Division. Governor General Sir Patrick Allen authorized this action in response to elevated criminal activity in these areas.

Expressing reservations about the SOEs, the Opposition Leader affirmed his party’s support for alternative government interventions. Watch the report:

Reporter: Ramon Gordon

Watch more NEWS