Kingston, Jamaica: The Electoral Office of Jamaica nears the conclusion of ballot counting for the February 26 Local Government Election. As of late Wednesday evening, the final count has been completed for 218 out of 228 electoral divisions. This progress includes nine parishes: St. Thomas, Portland, St. Mary, St. Ann, Trelawny, Hanover, St. Elizabeth, Manchester, and Clarendon. The remaining divisions are expected to be tallied today, marking the completion of the counting process.

Updated: 9Pm- February 29, 2024

Final Vote Tallies Complete for 226 Electoral Divisions

The ballots for 226 of the 228 electoral divisions have now been counted, bringing the number of parishes where the final count is complete to 11. The electoral division of Dallas in St. Andrew East Rural and Cornwall Mountain in Westmoreland Central are being counted.

This story will be updated subsequent to our newscast.